.

Suwanee Restaurant Inspections: Mori House

How did the sushi eatery on Suwanee Dam Road fare on a recent health check?

a Japanese/sushi-themed restaurant in Suwanee, received ratings of "73/C," then "97/A" on health inspections in the past several months.

On October 30, Mori House received the "C" rating from the Gwinnett/Newton/Rockdale Health Department. Among the violations noted then were:

  • Raw chicken stored over ready to eat foods. ...  Corrected On-Site
  • Rice cooked yesterday and sauces made not date marked. Items were date marked with dates made. ... Corrected On-Site.
  • fluke and Aji(jack mackerel) on sushi menu are not frozen or farm raised. ... Raw fish or partially cooked must be frozen at -4F or below for 7 days or more or farm raised and pellet fed.  Corrected On-Site.

None of these violations was noted in the inspection on November 6, which received the "A" rating.

You can read the complete Mori House inspections here.

-- Have you ever eaten at Mori House? Share your experiences in the comments below.

Don’t miss any Suwanee news. Subscribe to Suwanee Patch’s free newsletter, like us on Facebook and follow us on Twitter.


Barry Calano February 01, 2013 at 02:20 PM
Steve: Reports like this, which on the surface distribute data available in the public forum, draw attention to the shortcomings of a small business and it's owner/operators. Consider that if only the C-grade were published, how many revenue dollars would have been lost by Mori House. Similarly, that both grades were published in this report, taken together, they remain deterrents to patronage. In the first round, the operator learned a lesson. That shows up in the quality, service and cleanliness of today's dining experience. That "A" is displayed on the wall, by law. Is it really necessary to cast negative aspersions by citing a past report? Small biz is tough enough without having to endure negative publicity. I don't agree with your policy of publishing these results. The market will sort it out. Barry Calano
Susan Edwards February 01, 2013 at 07:32 PM
I for one am interested in these reports. If you read the detail, many of the "violations" are carelessness, that when pointed out are easily corrected. I think it's good to "help" keep them on their toes.
Steve Burns (Editor) February 01, 2013 at 07:38 PM
Good points, Barry, but the entire report history is also available via the link in this article. These reports and the included health checks are publicly funded, and so are public information. I agree with Susan that we, along with the health inspectors, need to keep all the restaurants on their toes.
Guido Susi February 02, 2013 at 06:24 PM
they were kept on their toes as of Oct 30 . This is why they have inspections . If they get an A rating now it should be noted in a positive light . They have been made aware of their shortcoming s and have improved im sure with much effort. It is to be commended.its fine to be interested in the reports and u should but reporting the negative aspect of it in the past in this rating is like a back handed compliment. It is unwarranted. if its public domain then let them look it up . thats what i do before i go out to a restaurant. Give the small business owner a break here. they have complied and improved and further inspections will assure the public. I am with you Mr Calano
Susan Edwards February 02, 2013 at 10:04 PM
Thanks Steve. When I read the reports, I usually note that some of the so-called "violations" are no big deal. ex: employees had their personal drinks in a glass instead of in a styrofoam cup that was covered. I also am pleased to see that the restaurants fix the problems in a timely fashion, sometimes during the inspectors visit. To me this shows a restaurant owner that is interested in doing a good job and being up to snuff.
Steve Burns (Editor) February 02, 2013 at 10:10 PM
Thanks, Susan.
Andy D February 03, 2013 at 02:22 PM
Thank you Steve for these reports. First off If I walked into a restaurant and saw a score of 73 I would leave and not return. By posting this information I would give the restaurant a try. Reading what was wrong and what was corrected is great info. Plus a restaurant knowing that this info may wind up here is an added incentive to get it right the first time. Andy D.
Nancy February 08, 2013 at 04:02 PM
OK, guys. All this aside, we eat here often and the food and service is phenomenol! Keep up the good work on the health inspections!

Boards

More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something